Decision guide

Best CELPIP Practice Tests in 2026: Official, Free and AI-Scored Options Compared

Start with the two free official tests, then add a platform that runs full-length timed mocks and scores your Writing and Speaking. This guide ranks each type of resource against the real test format, and says which is free.

CELPIP practice test dashboard with section cards and timer

Short answer

Official free tests first. Then a timed, scored mock platform. Then official paid sets only if you need more official questions.

  • Paragon, the test maker, gives away two complete CELPIP General practice tests (A and B) and a separate LS set. They show the real format but score only Listening and Reading; Writing and Speaking come with performance standards, not a score.
  • The official free tests let you replay audio and go back to change answers. The real test plays audio once and locks each section, so you also need mocks that behave like test day.
  • Independent platforms add what the official material lacks: AI or human ratings for Writing and Speaking, dozens of full mocks, sectional tests and progress tracking. Prices range from free to about CA$50 a month, and several show rupees or US dollars to Canadian visitors.
  • We run one of those platforms. Our facts are below with everyone else's, and a checklist tells you how to judge any mock, ours included.
Free official tests
2 CELPIP General + LS set (Paragon)
Official W/S scores
None. Performance standards only
Real test audio
Plays once, no playbar
Our free tier
2 full mocks + 4 sectionals, AI scored

The best CELPIP practice tests by type

Competitor facts as displayed on each site on the review date. Paragon does not publish its paid product prices on public pages.
Best forResourceWhat you getCost
Seeing the real format firstParagon free Starter Set (celpip.ca)2 complete General tests, answer keys, transcripts, Writing and Speaking performance standardsFree (short form on celpip.ca)
Citizenship candidatesParagon free LS Starter Set, then CELPIP General LS mock testsListening and Speaking only, in the LS timingFree official set; our LS Mock 1 free
Full mocks with AI-scored Writing and SpeakingCELPIPOnlineTests.com, CELTESTPIP, celptips, celpippracticetest.comTimed full mocks, instant Listening and Reading scores, AI feedback on Writing and SpeakingAbout CA$12 to CA$50 a month; free tiers vary
Human-rated Writing and Speakingcelpipmocks.com16 full mocks and 16 per skill, expert ratings in 1 to 2 hours (its claim)USD 9 to 49.99 per plan
More official questionsParagon online practice test sets13 sets of 2 complete tests, 6-month access, instant Listening and Reading resultsPrice shown only after sign-in
Free drills without an accountHZad Education, landingprepFree sectional tests; AI feedback claimed (HZad), rubric feedback (landingprep)Free

How we judged each CELPIP practice test

A practice test is only useful if it behaves like the real one, so every resource here was checked against the official format published by celpip.ca and Paragon's 2026 study packs. Full disclosure: we run CELPIPOnlineTests.com, one of the platforms listed. Competitor facts are quoted from their own sites as displayed on the review date, with "not stated" wherever a site does not say. No accuracy claims from any vendor, ours included, are treated as fact.

  • Matches the official structure: 38 Listening questions in six parts, 38 Reading questions in four parts, two Writing tasks, eight Speaking tasks, with the official timers.
  • Audio plays once with no playbar, and finished sections stay locked, as on test day.
  • Speaking is recorded with preparation and speaking timers per task, and Writing shows a word counter against the 150 to 200 word target.
  • The scoring method is disclosed: computer for Listening and Reading, and either AI, human raters or nothing for Writing and Speaking.
  • The price and the free tier are shown clearly, in Canadian dollars.

Official free CELPIP practice tests (Paragon Starter Set)

Paragon Testing Enterprises publishes a free Starter Set of two complete CELPIP General tests, Practice Test A and Practice Test B, with Listening and Reading answer keys, Listening transcripts and the official performance standards for Writing and Speaking. A separate free set exists for CELPIP General LS. Access is through a short form on celpip.ca or a Paragon account. Registered test takers also receive Accelerate Starter, a free sample of the paid Accelerate course with videos, PDFs and quizzes, and celpip.ca offers free webinars and a Score Comparison Chart with sample Writing and Speaking responses at each level.

These are the only tests written by the test maker, so everyone should start here. Two limits, both stated by Paragon on the practice test page: in the practice test you can go back and change answers and control the audio with a playbar, while in the official test the audio plays once, there is no playbar and you cannot return to a finished section. And Writing and Speaking are not scored; you compare your response to the performance standards yourself. If you are not sure which version you need, read CELPIP General vs LS before you pick a set.

Official paid CELPIP study materials

Paragon also sells 13 online practice test sets, each with two complete tests (26 in total), with instant Listening and Reading results and, in one test per set, sample Writing and Speaking responses at several levels. CELPIP Accelerate is a self-directed course with over 30 instructional videos, quizzes, one complete Reading and Listening practice test with analysis, and downloadable study notes. There are also Study Guides (PDF ebooks with a full practice test each), the Focus interactive e-books, and short products such as Common CELPIP Errors. All are 6-month subscriptions and the practice tests are not built for smartphones.

Prices are only visible inside the Paragon store after you sign in, so we do not print them. What the paid sets do not include is the same thing the free ones lack: a score for your Writing and Speaking. They are the right purchase if you want more official questions after the free set, and not the right purchase if your problem is not knowing what level your writing and speaking are at.

What a realistic CELPIP mock test must replicate

This is the checklist to run any mock through, from the official format pages and Paragon's 2026 Overview Study Pack. If a platform fails the first three rows, it is a question bank, not a mock.

Test day factWhat to check in a mock
Listening audio plays once; questions appear after the clip; no playbarNo replay button; questions hidden until the audio ends
You cannot return to a finished sectionSections lock when the timer ends or you move on
Timers: Listening 46 to 55 min, Reading 43 to 56 min, Writing 53 min, Speaking 15 minA visible countdown per section that ends the section
38 Listening questions in 6 parts (8, 5, 6, 5, 8, 6); 38 Reading questions in 4 parts (11, 8, 9, 10)The same parts, in the same order, with the same counts
Writing: Task 1 email in 27 min, Task 2 survey response in 26 min, 150 to 200 words each, word counter and spell-checkTwo tasks, a live word count, the same time split
Speaking: 8 tasks, each with preparation and speaking timers (for example 30 s prep and 90 s speaking for Task 1), responses recordedA microphone recorder with separate prep and speak countdowns for each task
Listening and Reading scored by computer; Speaking rated by 3 to 5 human raters; Writing scored by an AI-human hybrid verified by the rating team; both on content, vocabulary, readability or listenability, and task fulfillmentInstant Listening and Reading scores; Writing and Speaking feedback on the same four dimensions

For the part-by-part detail behind these rows, see the CELPIP test format guide. To turn a practice raw score into a level, the CELPIP score calculator uses Paragon's approximate ranges (for Listening, 27 to 31 of 38 is about level 7, 33 to 35 is about level 9).

Independent CELPIP practice platforms with AI scoring

These platforms exist to fill the Writing and Speaking gap. The table lists what each site said about itself on the review date. Where a site shows prices in rupees or US dollars to a visitor in Canada, that is noted, because it is a fair sign of who the product was built for.

As displayed on each site on the review date. Mock counts and user numbers are the vendors' own claims.
PlatformFull mocks (its count)Free tierWriting and Speaking scoringPrice as displayed
CELPIPOnlineTests.com (us)100: 50 General + 50 LS, plus 200 sectional testsTest 1 of every full mock and sectional test, 1 set per task type, with AI evaluationAI, four dimensions, estimated levelCA$9.99 week, CA$24.99 month, CA$59.99 3 months, CA$99.99 6 months
CELTESTPIP60+1 item per task type, 3 AI credits; no full mocksAI, instantNot on a public page; CA$19.99 week to CA$249.99 year at checkout
celptips60+Not statedAICA$11.99 week, CA$34.99 month, CA$67 3 months, CA$97 6 months
celpippracticetest.com60Not statedAI, instantINR 399 week, INR 999 month, INR 1,999 quarter
Gurully10 (General and LS)1 scored mockAI, per its FAQ; no sectional tests or question bank for CELPIPINR 200 to 800 plus GST; no CAD price
HZad EducationLists 5 tests per skill (20 sectional)All free, no sign-up; unlimited access by lotteryAI feedback claimed for all four skillsFree
prepcelpipNot statedFirst sets freeAI grading in development, not availableCA$9.99 two weeks, CA$14.99 month, CA$24.99 quarter
celpipmocks.com16 full + 16 per skillFull Mock 1 and Test 1 per sectionHuman raters, 1 to 2 hours (its claim)USD 9 (7 days), USD 19.99 (30 days), USD 49.99 (75 days)
landingprep"210 tests"All free, no sign-upRubric feedback, no scoreFree

Our platform: CELPIPOnlineTests.com

We built the platform around the checklist above: 50 CELPIP General full mock tests and 50 CELPIP General LS mocks with the official parts, counts and timers, Exam Mode (audio once, sections locked) alongside a Practice Mode, 50 sectional tests per skill, 50 practice sets for each of the 20 task types, and AI evaluation of every Writing and Speaking response on content, vocabulary, readability or listenability, and task fulfillment, with an estimated level. Test 1 of each full mock and each sectional test is free with the same AI evaluation, and plans in CAD start at CA$9.99 a week, with a 30-day money-back guarantee on Monthly and longer plans while unused.

CELTESTPIP, Gurully, HZad and the others: what their sites say

CELTESTPIP (Vancouver) advertises 60+ full mocks, 4,000+ questions, instant AI scoring and iOS and Android apps; it has no public pricing page, and its checkout listed CA$49.99 a month on the review date. Our CELTESTPIP alternative page covers its prices, refund rule and reviews in detail. Gurully (Ahmedabad) is a PTE platform with a CELPIP side product of 10 full mocks, priced in rupees with a zero-refund policy; see the Gurully alternative page. HZad Education offers free sectional tests with no sign-up and claims AI feedback on all four skills, although its page advertises "10 mock tests" while listing 5 tests per skill. celptips and celpippracticetest.com both advertise 60 mocks with AI scoring, one priced in CAD and one in INR. prepcelpip is cheap and in CAD but its AI grading for Writing and Speaking was still in development. celpipmocks.com is the one platform using human raters, with USD pricing.

Take a full CELPIP mock test

Put your preparation to the test with an exam-style CELPIP mock and get an honest baseline across all four skills.

Start a free mock test

Free CELPIP mock tests without a subscription

  • Paragon Starter Set: two complete official General tests and an LS set. Best material, but audio can be replayed and Writing and Speaking are unscored.
  • CELPIPOnlineTests.com: Test 1 of the General mock, Test 1 of the LS mock and Test 1 of each sectional test, with AI-scored Writing and Speaking. No card needed.
  • HZad Education: free sectional tests with no sign-up; unlimited access is offered by lottery to one in five students.
  • landingprep: free tests with no sign-up; Writing and Speaking receive rubric feedback rather than a score.
  • celpipmocks.com: Full Mock 1 and Test 1 per section free, with human ratings on the paid plans.
  • Gurully and CELTESTPIP: one free scored mock (Gurully) or free sample items and three AI credits (CELTESTPIP); no free full mock on CELTESTPIP.

CELPIP practice test PDFs, books and YouTube: where they fit

Paragon publishes free PDF study packs (the 2026 Overview Study Pack, Writing Pro and Speaking Pro packs) and sells Study Guides and the Focus e-books, and CELPIP Live on YouTube covers strategy. These are good for learning what each task asks, for Writing and Speaking prompts you can practice offline, and for vocabulary. What a PDF cannot do is play audio once, run a section timer or record your voice, and those three things are where most test-day problems happen. Use PDFs to learn the tasks, then move to on-screen practice: practice by question type for the drills and the CELPIP vocabulary practice for the 1,000 most useful words.

Tutoring and prep courses

Paragon offers an official CELPIP Preparation Program through test centres and partner providers, and many schools run their own courses; prices vary and are not published centrally. A tutor is worth the money when your problem is register and structure in Writing, or fluency and pronunciation in Speaking, because a person can hear what a rubric cannot explain. A tutor cannot fix timing or format problems; only repeated timed practice does that. Use the practice tests to find the weak skill first, then decide whether a tutor is the right spend for it.

Best CELPIP practice tests by skill

How to use practice tests before test day

  1. Sit official Practice Test A untimed as a diagnostic, and compare your Writing and Speaking with the performance standards.
  2. Take one full-length timed mock a week under exam conditions, and use the estimated levels to find your weakest skill.
  3. Drill that skill daily with sectional tests and task-type practice, and review every Writing and Speaking evaluation before the next attempt.
  4. Two weeks out, sit official Practice Test B timed, then keep the weekly full mock until test day.
  5. Set your target from your program, not from a round number: CELPIP score for Canada PR explains CLB 7 versus CLB 9, and the complete CELPIP guide covers booking and test day.

Start with a free full mock, scored on all four skills

Test 1 of the CELPIP General mock is free, with the audio played once, the official timers and AI feedback on your Writing and Speaking. No card required.

Frequently asked questions

Yes. Paragon publishes a free Starter Set of two complete CELPIP General tests (Practice Test A and B) with Listening and Reading answer keys, transcripts and Writing and Speaking performance standards, plus a separate LS set. Access is through a short form on celpip.ca.

Not quite. Paragon states that in the practice test you can replay audio with a playbar and go back to change answers, while in the official test audio plays once, there is no playbar and you cannot return to a finished section.

Official sets score Listening and Reading instantly and give approximate levels; Writing and Speaking come with performance standards, not a score. Independent platforms such as ours add AI ratings (or, on celpipmocks.com, human ratings) for Writing and Speaking.

Paragon shows prices only inside its store after sign-in. Its public pages describe 13 online sets of two tests each with 6-month access, but do not print a price, so we do not either.

Audio that plays once with no replay, section timers matching 46 to 55, 43 to 56, 53 and 15 minutes, 38 Listening and 38 Reading questions in the official parts, two 150 to 200 word Writing tasks with a word counter, and eight recorded Speaking tasks with preparation and speaking timers.

Only Accelerate Starter, a sample provided free to registered test takers. The full Accelerate courses are paid 6-month subscriptions sold through Paragon's store.

Official Listening and Reading answer keys map raw scores to approximate levels, and Paragon warns the mapping can vary by test form. AI estimates for Writing and Speaking are estimates. No practice score is an official result.

For Writing and Speaking prompts and vocabulary, yes. A PDF cannot replicate audio played once, on-screen timers or Speaking recording, which is where most test-day problems happen, so pair PDFs with on-screen practice.

Sources and review

Fees, formats, timings and immigration rules on this page were checked against the official sources below on September 27, 2026. Test providers and IRCC change these from time to time, so confirm the current figure on the linked page before you book or apply.

CELPIPOnlineTests.com is an independent practice platform. It is not affiliated with Paragon Testing Enterprises, Prometric, IDP, the British Council, Pearson, IRCC or any other test provider named on this page.

Free to start · AI-scored Writing and Speaking

The free full mock is the fastest way to judge any platform

Run ours through the checklist: audio once, official timers, eight recorded Speaking tasks and AI-scored Writing. Test 1 is free.